Modern Mozart

A talk with Martina Toifl and Pia Clodi

©theresapewal

When a hotel and a design lady, both with a penchant for art and photography, decide to work together, the result can only be one thing: very special. The new boutique hotel The Mozart in Salzburg’s Andräviertel quarter combines elements from the classical era and the 21st century in a charming and stylish fashion, thus creating a space of comfort and inspiration. In their interview with La Loupe, hotel director Martina Toifl and designer Pia Clodi dilvulge details about their latest project, their approach to Mozart, and the dramatic composition of 32 rooms.

L.L.

Ms. Toifl, how did the hotel The Mozart come to be?

M.T.

The old building with its style that is so characteristic for Franz-Josef-Strasse, where it is located, dates back to the turn of the century and it was run as Hotel Mozart since the 1950s. It was family-owned until – luck for us – the family of owners decided to sell the house. We took over running operations in early 2018 and immediately realised just how much potential the house has; now, after a four-month renovation period, the house shines in new lustre. There are a lot of new things we put in there – from French wooden floors to stucco ceilings – but of course quite a few antique pieces also found a new place in the house.

©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

What sort of interaction is there between the city of Salzburg, the guest, and the design? What‘s to expect?

P.C.

Martina and I first worked as a design-duo on the project “Townhouse Nora” by the Heyn Collections that Martina founded.

M.T.

My passion for design and interior is complemented perfectly by Pia. Three years ago we conceived and realised the furnishing, features, and walls as a comprehensive concept at the Townhouse: I wanted to bring the city into the Townhouse and Pia designed the “Salzburg Edition” for it; the pictures on the walls tell the city’s story which can be discovered outside. That concept is extremely popular. The guests can also find the photographs on our city-guide and post cards and so, when they go home, they take a piece of art from Salzburg with them.

The Mozart Hotel Heym Collections2019_001
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

What’s the design philosophy behind The Mozart? Retro, contemporary, modern?

P.C.

We describe our style as personal, inspired by British design, and with a strong character – the house and its history itself pointed us in the right direction. At The Mozart the items that contribute most to its individual style are antique pieces of furniture, finest fabrics, and harmonious colour schemes. That’s how our motto “A modern classic” was conceived, too.

M.T.

The Lower Bar, the heart of our breakfast buffet, for instance, is an old apothecary’s cabinet. The space is supposed to make you feel comfortable while still being a little more special than your own home. And, of course, you can also enjoy all the comforts of the 21st century: AC, smart TV, and amazing box-spring beds.

L.L.

What does the term boutique hotel mean to you? What does a hotel need to deserve the name boutique hotel?

M.T.

We see ourselves as an individual piece of Salzburg and we want to focus on the essentials of our job as hosts: a warm welcome, and personal interacation with our guests. At the same time the house’s interior design speaks of a passion for details, for art, and for Mozart.

P.C.

To us boutique means full of character. Which is why we worked on the topic of Mozart together with several artists – from drawings to a music-inspired mirror. We think that art inspires a different perspective of things. So photography was a must (smirks). The 32 rooms all feature photographs that, taken together, make up a complete work of art that tells its own story. A story we also tell in our book “Mozart – kissed by the Muse”. When guests return they probably get to discover yet another element of the story.

M.T.:

You simply need to have been in all the rooms to have seen it all (laughs).

Martina Tofil
Martina Tofil
The Mozart Hotel Heym Collections2019_019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

A city hotel means a lot of hustle and bustle. How do you preserve your personal style?

M.T.

The rooms have a classical design, and because of the connection with art nouveau elements or the Thonet chairs, there immediately is an Austrian flair to it. The original, the regional was important to us – also when it comes to food. Our breakfast is made up of mostly regional produts, and we offer fresh smoothies and mueslis every day.

L.L.

What role does Mozart as a person play?

P.C.

Mozart himself said it once: music is not made up of notes, but the silence in between. That’s a really strong image and it was the starting point for the art project “Mozart – kissed by the Muse”. This photographic concept for 32 rooms, bar, and bistro is all about the process of artistic creation. Which, in this case, is very playful. And since the personal figure of the muse has been on my mind for several years, it plays a decisive role. The dialogue of the artist and his muse symbolises a kind of dialectic that can be found all over Mozart’s compositions.

Pia Clodi
Pia Clodi
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

What do you want the guest to “take away”?

M.T.

With The Mozart we want to offer guests a place where they can feel comfortable and at home but also inspired – and that does not just go for hotel guests from all over the world but also for people from Salzburg who are very welcome in our bar and bistro.

P.C.

A space for lively exchange and encounters – with a good glass of wine (laughs).

The Mozart Hotel Heym Collections2019_018

Wordrap Pia Clodi & Martina Toifl

Favourite piece of furniture in the house/hotel?

The Lower Bar – the apothecary’s cabinet.

Surfaces create comfort?

A surface needs to be real. No-one feels at home surrounded by fakes.

We’d recommend booking room #… … in advance.

The suite. And room 103.

Salzburg, Mozart and …

a voyage of discovery.

The first thing I do when I get home …

I open the windows.

Modern Mozart

Ein Gespräch mit Martina Toifl und Pia Clodi

©theresapewal

Wenn eine Hotel- und eine Design-Lady, beide mit Liebe zu Kunst und Fotografie, gemeinsame Sache machen, kann nur etwas Besonderes dabei herauskommen. Im neuen Boutiqehotel The Mozart im Andräviertel verschmilzt die Epoche der Klassik charmant und stilsicher mit dem 21. Jahrhundert zu einem Wohlfühl- und Inspirationsreich. Hoteldirektorin Martina Toifl und Designerin Pia Clodi geben im La Loupe-Interview Einblicke in ihr neuestes Projekt, ihren Zugang zu Mozart und die Dramaturgie hinter den 32 Zimmern.

L.L.

Frau Toifl, aus welchen Beweggründen entstand das Hotel The Mozart?

M.T.

Der für die Franz-Josef-Straße charakteristische Altbau, in dem sich das The Mozart befindet, stammt aus der Zeit der Jahrhundertwende und wurde seit den 1950er-Jahren als Hotel Mozart geführt. Es war in Familienbesitz und die Eigentümerfamilie hat beschlossen, das Haus zu verkaufen. Glück für uns! Wir haben den laufenden Betrieb Anfang 2018 übernommen und uns war gleich klar, dass dieses Haus viel Potenzial hat; nun, nach einer viermonatigen Renovierungsphase, erstrahlt es im neuen Glanz. So viel wir aber auch neu gemacht haben – vom französischen Vollholzboden bis zur Stuckdecke – so selbstverständlich haben auch antike Stücke ihren neuen Platz im Haus gefunden.

©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

Inwiefern spielen die Stadt Salzburg, der Gast und das Design zusammen? Was darf man erwarten?

P.C.

Martina und ich haben als Design-Duo beim Projekt „Townhouse Nora“ der von Martina gegründeten Heym Collections erstmals zusammengearbeitet.

M.T.

Meine Liebe zum Design und Einrichten hat in Pia eine gute Ergänzung gefunden. Für das Townhouse haben wir vor drei Jahren gemeinsam die Einrichtung, Ausstattung und Wände als Gesamtkonzept geplant und umgesetzt. Ich wollte die Stadt ins Townhouse holen und Pia hat dafür die „Salzburg Edition“ entworfen. Die Bilder an den Wänden erzählen die Geschichte der Stadt, die man draußen entdecken kann. Das kommt irrsinnig gut an. Die Gäste finden die Fotografien auch in unserem Cityguide und auf Postkarten, und nehmen so ihr Stück Kunst aus Salzburg mit nach Hause.

©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

Welche Designphilosophie verfolgen Sie mit The Mozart? Retro, zeitgenössisch, modern?

P.C.

Unseren Stil beschreiben viele als persönlich, britisch inspiriert und charakterstark, wobei das Haus und seine Geschichte für uns die Richtung vorgeben hat. Im The Mozart sind die stilbildenden Elemente antike Möbel, erstklassige Stoffe und stimmige Farben. So kommt auch unser Motto „A modern classic“ zustande.

M.T.

Die Lower Bar, das Herzstück unseres Frühstücksbuffets, ist zum Beispiel ein alter Apothekerschrank. Man soll sich hier geborgen fühlen, gleichzeitig darf es etwas spezieller sein als zuhause. Und man kann auch die Annehmlichkeiten des 21. Jahrhunderts genießen: Klimaanlage, Smart-TV und großartige Boxspringbetten.

L.L.

Was verstehen Sie unter einem Boutiquehotel? Was braucht ein Boutiquehotel? Was macht es aus?

M.T.

Wir verstehen uns als ein individuelles Stück Salzburg und möchten uns auf das Wesentliche des Gastgebens konzentrieren: einen herzlichen Empfang und persönlichen Umgang mit unseren Gästen. Zugleich spürt man in der Einrichtung des Hauses unsere Liebe zu Details, zur Kunst und zu Mozart.

P.C.

Boutique heißt für uns charaktervoll. In diesem Sinne haben wir mit verschiedenen Künstlern zum Thema Mozart gearbeitet – von Zeichnungen bis hin zu einem musikalisch inspirierten Spiegel. Für uns ergibt sich durch die Kunst ein anderer Blick auf die Dinge. Fotografie durfte dabei natürlich auch nicht fehlen. Für die besondere Atmosphäre in den 32 Zimmern sorgen Bilder, die als Gesamtkunstwerk eine dramaturgische Geschichte ergeben. Diese erzählen wir in unserem Buch „Mozart – kissed by the Muse“. Kommt man als Gast wieder, entdeckt man wahrscheinlich jeweils einen anderen Teil der Story.

M.T.:

Man muss einfach in allen Zimmern gewesen sein, um alles gesehen zu haben (lacht).

Martina Toifl
Martina Toifl
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

Stadthotel bedeutet ein reges Kommen und Gehen. Wie wahren Sie Ihren persönlichen Stil?

M.T.

Die Zimmer haben ein klassisches Design, aber durch die Verbindung mit den Jugendstilelementen oder mit den Thonet-Stühlen ist sofort der Konnex zu Österreich da. Das Heimische, Regionale ist uns sehr wichtig – auch bei der Kulinarik. Unser Frühstück besteht großteils aus regionalen Produkten, zum Beispiel bieten wir täglich frische Smoothies und Müslis an.

©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

Welche Rolle spielt Mozart als Person?

P.C.

Mozart hat einmal gesagt: Die Musik kommt nicht aus den Noten, sondern aus der Stille dazwischen. Das ist ein sehr starkes Bild und war mein Ausgangspunkt für das Kunstprojekt „Mozart – kissed by the Muse“. In dieser fotografischen Einfühlung für 32 Zimmer, Bar und Bistro geht es um den künstlerischen Schaffensprozess. Dieser ist ein spielerischer. Nachdem mich persönlich die Figur der Muse seit einigen Jahren sehr beschäftigt hat, spielt sie eine wesentliche Rolle. Das Zwiegespräch des Künstlers mit seiner Muse steht sinnbildlich für die Dialektik, die in Mozarts Kompositionen überall zu finden ist.

Pia Clodi
Pia Clodi
©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019
L.L.

Was soll der Gast „mitnehmen“?

M.T.

„Wir wollen mit The Mozart einen Ort anbieten, wo man sich aufgehoben und wohl fühlt, aber auch inspiriert wird – nicht nur Hotelgäste aus aller Welt, sondern auch die Salzburger, die in Bar und Bistro unseres Hauses herzlich willkommen sind.

P.C.

Ein Platz für lebendigen Austausch und Begegnung – bei einem guten Glas Wein (lacht)

©HeymCollections2019
©HeymCollections2019

Wordrap mit Pia Clodi & Martina Toifl

Lieblings-Möbelstück im Hotel?

Die Lower Bar – der Apothekerschrank.

... Oberfläche schafft Geborgenheit?

Oberfläche muss echt sein. Von Nachahmungen umgeben, fühlt man sich nicht geborgen.

Zimmer #... sollte man vorreservieren?

Die Suite. Und Zimmer 103.

Salzburg, Mozart und ...

... eine Entdeckungsreise.

Das mache ich als Erstes, wenn ich nach Hause komme …

… die Fenster auf.